I. General Topics
Topic
General Rapporteurs
Email
Comparative Law and multicultural legal classes: challenge or opportunity?
Csaba Varga, Budapest
varga.csaba@jak.ppke.hu
Property meeting the challenge of the “commons”
Ugo Mattei, Turin
matteiu@uchastings.edu
The UNIDROIT Principles as a common frame of reference for the uniform interpretation of national laws
Alejandro M. Garro, New York
José A. Moreno Rodríguez, Asunción
garro@law.columbia.edu
jmoreno@altra.com.py
Bilingual legal education: The need and the challenges
Nicolás Etcheverry Estrázulas, Montevideo
netcheverry@um.edu.uy
Conditions of the recognition of the civil status of transsexual and transgender people
Isabel Jaramillo Sierra, Bogotá
ijaramil@uniandes.edu.co
Compensation schemes for damages caused by healthcare and alternatives to court proceedings
Dobrochna Bach-Golecka, Warsaw
d.bach-golecka@uw.edu.pl
Multicultural challenges in Family Law
Nadjma Yassari, Hamburg
Marie-Claire Foblets, Halle (Saale)
yassari@mpipriv.de
foblets@eth.mpg.de
Information obligations and disinformation of consumers
Gert Straetmans, Antwerp
gert.straetmans@uantwerpen.be
Optional choice of courts agreements
Mary Keyes, Nathan
m.keyes@griffith.edu.au
Private International Law for corporate social responsibility
Catherine Kessedjian, Paris
catherine.kessedjian@u-paris2.fr
The anti-suit injunction in arbitral and judicial procedures
Filip De Ly, Rotterdam
 dely@law.eur.nl
Control of price terms in standard contracts terms
Yesim Atamer, Istanbul
Pascal Pichonaz, Fribourg
yesim.atamer@bilgi.edu.tr
pascal.pichonnaz@unifr.ch
Groups of companies
Rafael Manóvil, Buenos Aires
rafael.manovil@bomchil.com
Legal regulation of crowdfunding
Caroline Kleiner, Strasbourg
carolinekleiner@gmail.com
Security rights on Intellectual Property
Eva-Maria Kieninger, Würzburg
emkieninger@t-online.de
The role of collective bargaining in labour law regimes
Ulla Liukkunen, Helsinki
ulla.liukkunen@helsinki.fi
Legal aspects of cruises
Cecilia Fresnedo de Aguirre, Montevideo
ceciliafresnedo@gmail.com
The fight against poverty and the right to development
Mads Andenas, Oslo
Jeremy Perelman, Paris
mads.andenas@jus.uio.no
jeremy.perelman@sciencespo.fr
Formal and informal constitutional amendment
Mortimer Sellers, Baltimore
mortimer.sellers@gmail.com
Reconciling legal pluralism and constitutionalism: new trajectories for legal theory in the global age
Guillaume Tusseau, Paris
guillaume.tusseau@sciencespo.fr
The right to be forgotten
Franz Werro, Fribourg & Washington DC
franz.werro@unifr.ch
Deference to the Administration in judicial review
Zhu Guobin, Hong Kong
lwzhugb@cityu.edu.hk
Juvenile delinquency under recent developments in children’s rights : Child as perpetrator and victim of criminal offences
Julia Sloth-Nielsen, Belville & Leiden
jsloth-nielsen@uwc.ac.za
Confidentiality of correspondence with counsel as necessary requirement of the right to a fair trial
Lorena Bachmaier, Madrid
Stephan C. Thaman, Saint Louis
lorenab@ucm.es
thamansc@slu.edu
Data protection in the internet
Dario Moura Vicente
Sofia de Vasconcelos Casimiro, Lisbon
dmouravicente@fd.ul.pt
svc@vda.pt
Legal aspects of genetic testing regarding insurance and employment
Lara Khoury, Montréal
Adelle Blackett, Montréal
lara.khoury@mcgill.ca
adelle.blackett@mcgill.ca
The market in legal services and conveyancing
Andrea Fusaro, Genoa
andrea.fusaro@unige.it
Climate change and the individual
Makane M. Mbengue, Geneva
Franceso Sindico, Glasgow
makane.mbengue@unige.ch
francesco.sindico@strath.ac.uk
Solidarity across generations
Eri Kasagi, Bordeaux
eri.kasagi@u-bordeaux.fr
II. Workshops
1. International judicial assistance in cross-border insolvencies: the enactment of the UNCITRAL Model Law on Cross Border Insolvency by national legislatures and its application by national courts
Conveners: Jenny Clift & Kate Lannan, UNCITRAL, Vienna
2. Solving conflicts through administrative procedureCitizen participation, its judicial review, alternative dispute resolution
Convener: Hermann Pünder, Hamburg
3. Conflicts of jurisdiction in criminal matters and double jeopardy protection (Workshop offered by the International Association of Penal Law)
Conveners: John A.E. Vervaele, Utrecht & Katalin Ligeti, Luxembourg
III. Round Tables
1. Law and religion: the perspective of the inter-religious dialogue
2. The refugee admissionHow do the national legal systems respond?
3. Commercial arbitration: an autonomous transnational legal order?
IV. Luncheon Meetings
1. The Hague Conference’s mission in the next 25 years (Round Table)
Convener: Anselmo Reyes, Hong Kong
2. Recognition and enforcement of foreign judgments in ASEAN, Australia, China, India, Japan and South Korea
Convener: Adeline Chong, Singapore
3. Southeast Asian perspectives of Comparative Law
Conveners: Gary Bell, Singapore & Topo Santoso, Jakarta
4. Small States
Conveners: Giuseppe Franco Ferrari, Milan, Tony Angelo, Wellington & Jennifer Corrin, Brisbane
5. Mixed legal systems
Convener: Yasunori Kasai, Tokyo, Thomas Bennett, Cape Town & John Cairns, Edinburgh
6. What future for investment arbitration?
Conveners: Luke Nottage, Sydney, Marilda Rosado, Rio de Janeiro & Francis Botchway, Qatar
7. Asian Principles on Private International Law
Conveners: Naoshi Takasugi, Kyoto, Suk Kwang Hyun, Seoul & Chen Weizuo, Beijing
8. Independent Directors in Asia: a deceptively complex legal transplant
Conveners: TbC
9. Autonomous driving
Convener : Shinto Teramoto (Fukuoka)
V. Congress in Congress: New Technology, the Innovation Economy and the Law
Convener: Toshiyuki Kono, Fukuoka
1. Data/information/ knowledge-related fields and Law
Session chaired by Prof. Nikolaus Forgo, Hannover/ Vienna
2. Sharing Economy
Session chaired by Prof. Shinto Teramoto, Fukuoka
3. Autonomous driving
Session chaired by Prof. Shinto Teramoto, Fukuoka
4. There is No Escape from LegalTech and Artificial Intelligence
Session chaired by Prof. Erik Vermeulen, Tilburg

 

VI. Younger Scholars Forum in Comparative Law
Convener: Richard Albert, Boston
Workshop 1: The Separation of Powers and its Challenges in Comparative Perspectives
Distinguished Provocateur-Discussant: Mortimer Sellers, Baltimore
Moderators: Daniel Wunder Hachem, Curitiba & Ren Yatsunami, Kyushu
Workshop 2: Populism and Comparative Approaches to Democratic Theory
Distinguished Provocateur-Discussant: Oran Doyle, Dublin
Moderators: Cristina Fasone, Rome & Yaniv Roznai, Herzliya
Workshop 3: Comparative Public and Private Law Responses to Religious Diversity
Distinguished Provocateur-Discussant: Michel Rosenfeld, New York
Moderators: Jaclyn Neo, Singapour & Ioanna Tourkochoriti, Galway
Workshop 4: Defences to Liability: Philosophy and Doctrine
Distinguished Provocateur-Discussant: C.M.D.S. Pavillon, Groningen
Moderators: 
Cora Chan, Hong-Kong, Eduardo Ferreira Jordão, Rio
Workshop 5: Technology and Innovation: Challenges for Traditional Legal Boundaries
Distinguished Provocateur-Discussant: Sofia Ranchordás, Leiden
Moderators: Catalina Goanta, Maastricht & András Koltay, Budapest
Workshop 6: Migration and Asylum: Comparative Approaches and the Need for Harmonizing Regimes
Distinguished Provocateur-Discussant: Adelle Blackett, Montréal
Moderators: 
Asha Asha, Kaushal, Vancouver & Dimitry Kochenov, Groningen
Workshop 7: Misuses of Power in Both Private and Public Law: Dual Perspectives on Corruption
Distinguished Provocateur-Discussant: Geneviève Cartier, Sherbrooke
Moderators: 
Sebastián Paredes, Buenos Aires & Maxime St-Hilaire, Sherbrooke
Workshop 8: Methodological Approaches to Comparative Constitutional Law: Evolutions and Revolutions
Distinguished Provocateur-Discussant: Guillaume Tusseau, Paris
Moderators: Luisa Fernanda García López, Bogotá & Tomasz Koncewicz, Dantzig
Speakers’ Corner : program to be confirmed